Second Annual Hero Awards Spotlights In-House Ediscovery Achievers

On January 29, leading into Legaltech NY, Portland-based legaltech SaaS company Zapproved will host the second annual Corporate E-Discovery Hero Awards in New York City. The awards ceremony celebrates corporate legal department leaders and teams who take a leading role in transforming how corporations, non-profits and public agencies respond to litigation. A field of 50 nominees has been narrowed down to the following 19 finalists in four categories: Trailblazer, Guardian, Maximizer and Smooth Operator, all recognizing different aspects of ediscovery excellence.

Guardian finalists:

  • Dion Connelly and Jenifer Johnston, City of Portland, OR
  • TracyAnn Eggen, Dignity Health
  • Sofia Empel, Cotiviti
  • Dawn Marie Mulvey, BDO
  • Mike Stinson, Conoco Phillips

Maximizer finalists:

  • Amy Coleman, Burns & McDonnell
  • Chris Hocker, Abercrombie & Fitch
  • Dawn Radcliffe, TransCanada PipeLines
  • Michelle Spak, Duke Energy
  • Chris Wolski, Perdue Farms

Smooth Operator finalists:

  • Eric Lieber, Toyota
  • Constance Mockaitis, AbbVie
  • Crystal Nagaya, Square Inc.
  • Julie Son, AmerisourceBergen
Corporate E-Discovery Hero Awards Logo

Trailblazer finalists:

  • EJ Bastien, Microsoft
  • Steven Cornelius, Scripps Health
  • Daniel Garrie, JAMS
  • Cortney Starble, CBRE
  • Ryan Zilm, Andeavor

The ceremony will also honor former U.S. Magistrate Judge Craig B. Shaffer with the Hon. Shira Scheindlin Lifetime Achievement Award, celebrating the progressive impact Judge Shaffer’s  career has had on the field of ediscovery, including his Hallmark Cache v. Land O’Lakes ruling. Finally, the Pinnacle Award will be given to three deserving individuals outside of corporate legal teams who have provided direction to the bar and corporate legal teams about how to handle the rapidly changing demands of electronic discovery in civil litigation.

This year will see three U.S. Magistrates in the Southern District of New York honored with the award — the Hon. James Francis, the Hon. Frank Maas and the Hon. Andrew Peck. “The impact of in-house litigation professionals is evolving at a rapid pace as their roles shift from a reactive to a proactive stance that requires measurable outcomes, having to do more with less and managing down both risk and costs.

This evening is a celebration of those who are trailblazing new pathways and maximizing efficiencies for corporate legal departments. The Hero Awards provide well-deserved recognition for these tireless innovators,” said Brad Harris, Vice President of Corporate Strategy at Zapproved. “It’s been an impressive selection of finalists this year and we are eager to learn from our panel of esteemed judges who will earn these awards.”

The event will also feature a fireside chat with world-renowned presidential historian and Pulitzer Prize-winning author, Doris Kearns Goodwin, as she discusses leadership traits and the role of the president during turbulent times. The Hero Awards are currently sold out, but those interested in attending can register for the wait list in case of an opening.